Lieutenant-Governors of Manitoba, 1870-1949, Legislatures and Premiers, 1934-49, and Present Ministry as at Aug. 1, 1949—concluded

Fourteenth Ministry

[Party standing at latest General Election, Oct. 15, 1945: 43 Coalition (25 Liberal-Progressives, 14 Progressive Conservatives, 2 Independent, 2 Social Credit), 12 Anti-Coalition (10 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation, 1 Independent Anti-Coalition, 1 Labour-Progressive). There were also 3 Service members with no party affiliation.]

Office	Name	Date of Present Appointment
Premier, President of the Council and Minister of Dominion-Provincial Relations	Hon. Douglas L. Campbell	Nov. 13, 1948
Minister of Agriculture and Immigration	Hon. Francis C. Bell	Dec. 14, 1948
Provincial Treasurer	Hon. John C. Dryden	Dec. 14, 1948
Minister of Labour	Hon. Charles E. Greenlay	Dec. 14, 1948
Municipal Commissioner for Manitoba	Hon. Sauveur Marcoux	Dec. 14, 1948
Minister of Mines and Natural Resources and Minister presiding over the Department of Industry and Commerce	Hon. John S. McDiarmid	May 27, 1932
Attorney-General	Hon, James O. McLenaghen	May 3, 1941
Provincial Secretary	Hon. Wallace C. Miller	Dec. 14, 1948
Minister of Public Utilities	Hon, William Morton	Feb. 5, 1944
Minister of Health and Public Welfare	Hon. Ivan Schultz	Feb. 5, 1944
Minister of Education	Hon. C. Rhodes Smith	Dec. 14, 1948
Minister of Public Works	Hon. Errick F. Willis	Nov. 4, 1940

Subsection 8.—Saskatchewan

The Executive Council of Saskatchewan has 11 members: the Premier, President of the Council, and Minister of Public Health; the Provincial Treasurer; the Attorney General; the Minister of Natural Resources and Industrial Development; the Minister of Municipal Affairs; the Minister of Social Welfare and Rehabilitation; the Provincial Secretary; the Minister of Highways and Transportation; the Minister of Education; the Minister of Labour; the Minister of Co-operation and Co-operative Development; the Minister of Agriculture; and the Minister of Public Works and Minister of Telephones and Telegraphs. The statutory number of members of the Legislative Assembly is 52 elected for a term of five years.

The Premier receives \$6,500 and each Cabinet Minister \$5,000 annually in addition while the Leader of the Opposition, the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker receive an additional \$2,500, \$1,500 and \$600, respectively. The annual salary of members of the Legislature is \$2,000 together with \$1,000 expenses.